HBCU Sports

From football to swimming, read the latest HBCU sports headlines involving teams from your favorite black colleges.

HBCU Spotlight

Interviews and articles with celebrities, athletes, coaches and administrators from historically black colleges and universities.

On The Yard

Campus Reporters give you the student’s perspective on sports, music, fashion, Greeks and life “On The Yard.”


Stories and opinions on a variety of topics involving HBCU sports from our staff writers. Hear our thoughts on recruiting, tailgating, hirings and firings.

HBCU Video

A collection of HBCU sports clips and exclusive content covering interviews, band performances and step shows.

Home » Alcorn State, Football, Fort Valley State, Grambling St., HBCU Sports, Jackson State, Maryland Eastern Shore, SIAC, South Carolina St., SWAC, Tennessee St., Tuskegee

Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2012 Announced

Submitted by on October 24, 2011 – 3:41 PM

(Atlanta, GA) – Last Friday, the Black College Football Hall of Fame announced the Class of 2012. The newest members were selected from a list of 35 finalists who had been determined earlier by the Black College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The inductees will be honored February 18, 2012 at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis during the Priority Payment Systems Third Annual Enshrinement Ceremony.

Black College Football Hall of Fame – Class of 2012

  • Willie Brown (DB, Grambling State University, 1959-1963)
  • Harry Carson (DE, South Carolina State University, 1972-1975)
  • Eldridge Dickey (QB, Tennessee State University, 1964-1967)
  • James “Shack” Harris (QB, Grambling State University, 1965-1968)
  • Claude Humphrey (DE, Tennessee State University, 1964-1967)
  • Steve McNair (QB, Alcorn State University, 1991-1994)
  • Willie “Wonderful Willie” Richardson (WR, Jackson State University, 1959-1962)
  • Johnny Sample (DB/RB, Maryland Eastern Shore, 1954-1958)
  • Rayfield “Big Cat” Wright (OL, Fort Valley State, 1963-1966)
  • Cleve Abbott (Head Coach, Tuskegee, 1923-1954)
  • Jackie Graves (Former NFL Scout, former director of personnel for the Philadelphia Eagles)


The Black College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee is comprised of journalists, historians and former football executives from around the country. The committee includes Ernie Accorsi, Charles Bailey, Gil Brandt, Charles Garcia, Donald Hunt, Mike Hurd, Ty Miller, Roscoe Nance, Charlie Neal and Lloyd Vance.
The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October of 2009 to honor the greatest football players and coaches from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). Previous inductees include greats such as Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Buck Buchanan, Willie Davis, “Bullet” Bob Hayes, Deacon Jones, Walter Payton, Eddie G. Robinson, Jerry Rice, Art Shell, Doug Williams and Paul “Tank” Younger. This year, nine players, one coach

Email This Article

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.